2015 Golden Gecko Awards finalists announced

Image credit: http://www.dmp.wa.gov.au/goldengecko/Recipents.html

Minister for Mines and Petroleum Bill Marmion has announced the eight finalists of this year’s Golden Gecko Awards for Environmental Excellence that recognise leading practice and innovation in environmental management.

Image credit: http://www.dmp.wa.gov.au/goldengecko/Recipents.html
Image credit: http://www.dmp.wa.gov.au/goldengecko/Recipents.html

“From a coastal tunnel to protect a Pilbara river delta to an emissions reduction project in Kalgoorlie-Boulder, these are exciting initiatives that showcase WA’s world-leading approach to environmental management,” Mr Marmion said in a statement.

“This year’s finalists include a mix of large and smaller mining companies, an oil and gas company, environmental consultants, a technology developer, a not-for-profit organisation and a State Government authority. To have eight projects of such high calibre vying for this year’s Golden Gecko Award is a credit to the Western Australian resources sector, and exemplifies its approach to responsible development.”

The finalists for the 2015 Golden Gecko Award are:

Chevron Australia – Wheatstone Micro-tunnel Project

Fortescue Metals Group / Ziltek Pty Ltd / PT Environmental Services – Better Environmental Outcomes from Hydrocarbon Spills using RemScan™

Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines – Gidji Emissions Reduction Project

Pilbara Mesquite Management Committee Inc – Battling the Thorny Menace through Corporate Alliances

Pilbara Ports Authority – Mangrove Rehabilitation Program

Premier Coal / Golder Associates – Lake Kepwari Trial Flow-through

Rio Tinto Iron Ore Utilities Division – West Angelas Fuel Hub

St Barbara Limited – Gwalia Operations Absorption Chiller Upgrade

Entries for the 2015 Golden Gecko Awards for Environmental Excellence closed on 10 April 2015. The 24th annual Golden Gecko Award will be presented on Thursday, 29 October 2015.

“All finalists are extremely deserving of this recognition and I congratulate them on their outstanding leadership and innovation,” Minister Marmion said.