BHP announces appointment of four South32 Non-executive Directors

Image credit: BHP Billiton website

BHP Billiton has announced four Non-executive appointments to the Board of Directors of global metals and mining company South32.

Image credit: BHP Billiton website
Image credit: BHP Billiton website

According to the media release by BHP, the new Non-executive Director appointments are Frank Cooper, Peter Kukielski, Futhi Mtoba and Wayne Osborn, who will join the Chairman Elect, David Crawford and the three previously announced Board members, Graham Kerr (Chief Executive Officer Elect and Executive Director), Keith Rumble (Independent Non-executive Director) and Xolani Mkhwanazi (Non-executive Director).

South32 Chairman Elect, David Crawford said the initial composition of the South32 Board following the proposed demerger will reflect a range of geographical backgrounds including Australia, South Africa and the United Kingdom.

“The addition of these four individuals to the future South32 Board further enhances the extensive mining, exploration, commercial and financial experience of our Board.  The appointments bring broad international business experience across multiple industries with a particular focus on finance, processing and mining,” Mr Crawford said.


Frank Cooper has more than 35 years’ experience in the accounting profession and specialises in the mining, energy and utilities sector. He has served as a Director for Woodside Petroleum Limited since February 2013 and, most recently, as a partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Peter Kukielski was Executive-in-Residence at Warburg Pincus following a long career in the mining industry establishing an exceptionally broad commodity understanding, most recently as Chief Executive Mining at ArcelorMittal.

Ntombifuthi (Futhi) Mtoba was Chairman of the Board at Deloitte Southern Africa, where her industry specialisation was in financial services. She is a past President of Business Unity South Africa (BUSA) and a past member of the Board of United Global Compact, and has received a number of international awards, including: Business Woman of the Year (Nedbank and Business Women’s Association, 2004) and International Woman of the Year (Organisation of Women in International Trade, 2005).

Wayne Osborn currently holds the position of Director of Wesfarmers Limited, Iluka Resources Limited and Alinta Holdings Limited and has 35 years of experience in the Australian mining, resources and manufacturing sectors. He joined Alcoa in 1979 and worked in a variety of roles and locations across the Australian business, prior to being appointed Managing Director, Alcoa of Australia in 2001.

On 17 March 2015, the BHP Billiton board advised its shareholders to vote in favour of the demerger of South32 at the company’s shareholder meetings scheduled to take place on 6 May 2015. If shareholder approval is received, these Director appointments for South32 will take effect from 7 May 2015.