BHP Billiton announces changes to the Board & Sustainability Committee

Image credit:

BHP Billiton has announced that Non-executive Director John Schubert will retire from the Board at the conclusion of the BHP Billiton Limited Annual General Meeting in November 2016.

Image credit:
Image credit:

Dr Schubert has served as a Non-executive Director of BHP Limited and as a Director of BHP Billiton Limited and BHP Billiton Plc for more than 15 years.

Announcing the news on Wednesday, BHP Billiton’s Chairman Jac Nasser thanked Dr Schubert for his contribution to the Board and for his outstanding service to BHP Billiton during his 16-year stint with the company.

“We wish John all the best for the future and will miss his wise counsel and judgement,” Mr Nasser said.

According to the company, Dr Schubert will step down as Chairman of the Sustainability Committee on 22 September 2016 but will remain a member until his retirement.

The position of Chairman of the Sustainability Committee will be filled by Mr Malcolm Brinded, who has extensive experience in energy, governance and sustainability having served as a member of the Board of Directors of Royal Dutch Shell plc from 2002 to 2012.

“Malcolm Brinded has been appointed as the Chairman of the Sustainability Committee with effect from 22 September 2016,” reads the official statement.

“Mr Brinded has been a Nonexecutive Director of BHP Billiton since April 2014.”